Leave a comment and enter below for a chance to win a copy of Irene Hannon’s newest book, “Pelican Point.” Winner will be announced in the next Author Spotlight feature. Congratulations to Audrey Stewart for winning Debra Whiting Alexander’s book, “Zetty.” Please email my assistant christenkrumm {at} gmail {dot} com to claim your prize.

Bestselling author Irene Hannon has captured readers’ hearts with her delightful tales set in the Oregon coastal village of Hope Harbor. Now she welcomes readers back to this charming town for another heartwarming and unforgettable romance.

Army doctor Ben Garrison is not expecting to inherit a crumbling lighthouse when he journeys back to Hope Harbor. Fresh out of the service, he is more than ready to unload the tower of bricks, decompress from years of treating battlefield trauma, and prepare to launch his civilian career.

Hope Harbor Herald editor Marci Weber has other ideas. She may not be a Hope Harbor native, but the small Oregon seaside town has become home—and she’s determined to save the Pelican Point landmark.

Sparks fly as the two go head to head over the fate of the lighthouse. But when they start to cooperate, a different kind of fire ignites. Can Hope Harbor heal the hearts of these two romance-wary souls?

Can you tell us about your newest release? Is it part of a series or a stand-alone?

Pelican Point is part of my Hope Harbor series, but each book stands alone and can be read as a single title. The unifying element in the books is the location, a small seaside town on the Oregon coast where hearts heal…and love blooms. Fans of Debbie Macomber and Robyn Carr would enjoy this novel.

Is anything or anyone in this book based on real-life experiences?

All the characters in Pelican Point are fictional, but the save-the-lighthouse plot has special meaning for me. My wonderful mom, who passed away suddenly in 2016, had a deep affection for lighthouses. The book is dedicated to her.

Who was your favorite character in this story, and why?

I love all my characters! However, Marci—the heroine in Pelican Point—was especially fun to write, because she tends to be a bit impulsive and outspoken, which can get her into trouble. But I have to say that Charley Lopez, the taco-making artist with great insights, continues to intrigue me—and readers. He appears in all the Hope Harbor books as a secondary character, and I think he now has his own fan club! He’s received more reader comments than any other character I’ve ever written. And of course, my seagull couple, Floyd and Gladys, are always fun and have also received lots of reader comments.

Compared to your other books, was this one easy to complete or challenging? Any idea why?

This one wasn’t difficult to write. Both the main and secondary plots blended beautifully, and I was very pleased with the finished product. I mean, how can you go wrong with a save-the-lighthouse plot? Who doesn’t love a lighthouse?

What was the hardest scene in this book to write? What made it difficult?

This book was a joy to write from beginning to end, so I didn’t have a lot of difficulty with any particular scene. The secondary plot, though, did provide some challenges. It involves a wounded veteran and his bride, and I wanted to capture the difficulties they were experiencing in a very real way. So I had to delve deep into the characters—and that took some work.

What did you (or your editors) edit out of this book?

Nothing. I write clean, and I follow the advice of mystery writer Elmore Leonard. He was once asked how he wrote such concise prose, and his response was simple. He said he simply left out the parts readers tend to skip. That’s how I write. If a scene I have in mind doesn’t further the plot, enhance character development, or contribute to the book in some concrete way, it doesn’t get written.

What’s the most difficult thing about writing from the point of view of the opposite sex?  

You know…it’s not so much writing from the viewpoint of the opposite sex that’s difficult, but trying to get into the heads of characters whose experience is very different from my own. That’s always a challenge—but I learn a lot from the effort and always come away with heightened empathy.

Purchase a copy of Pelican Point
Amazon | Barnes and Noble | CBD | IreneHammon.com

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Irene Hannon is the bestselling author of more than fifty novels, including One Perfect Spring, Hope Harbor, Sea Rose Lane, and Sandpiper Cove, as well as Dangerous Illusions and the Private Justice, Men of Valor, and multiple other bestselling suspense series. Her books have been honored with three coveted RITA Awards from Romance Writers of America, and she is a member of that organization’s elite Hall of Fame. Her many other awards include National Readers’ Choice, Daphne du Maurier, Retailers’ Choice, Booksellers’ Best, Carol, and Reviewers’ Choice from RT Book Reviews magazine, which also honored her with a Career Achievement Award for her entire body of work. In addition, she is a two-time Christy Award finalist.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

Good Things are Coming!

Find out first when you sign up for my email newsletter.

Consider yourself invited to sign up for my newsletter and get the behind-the-scenes scoop, info on freebies and giveaways, and more. Also, by signing up, you will receive the first chapters of some bestselling books. A small way to say I’m glad we’ve connected!

You have Successfully Subscribed!